Unlawful Possession of Weapons in Clarksville

possessionweaponsclarksvillelawyerGun crime has reached a new high in our country and we are constantly aware about the dimension of devastation can be caused by mindless use of guns. The state of Tennessee is extremely stringent about unlawful possession of weapons. To that effect, the state has established a set of stern laws to prevent any unwarranted use of such weapons within its limits. As an example, possession of a weapon during a “dangerous offense” gun crimes has been crafted as mandatory incarceration with no option of parole. If you’re facing criminal charges get a top Clarksville criminal defense lawyer to represent your rights and defend you, see why I am different.

If you are facing any criminal possession of illegal weapons and already have an existing weapons conviction, be sure that these crimes are enough to change your life for worse. The seriousness of weapons and gun charges can be understood by the rigorous penalties the offenses entail. If you are meddled in any such legal problem, it is vital that you are represented by an expert, experienced, and professional legal defense attorney.

As your attorney, you can rely on my years of experience in handling serious charges of unlawful possession of weapons.

Prohibited Weapons in the State of Tennessee

Although our Constitution guarantees an individual’s rights to carry arms, significant restrictions have been employed on this particular right. Tennessee laws precisely dictate the types of permissible weapons, when these can be borne, as well as how to be carried. Several weapons are absolutely prohibited in Tennessee. According to Tennessee Code Annotated 39-17-1302, the following arms are deemed illegal for possession by any average individual:

  • An explosive weapon or explosive – Class B felony with punishable prison term from 8 to 30 years
  • Automatic firearm – punishable Class E felony with prison term of 1 to 6 years
  • Short-barreled shotgun (Class III Firearm)– a punishable Class E felony entailing a prison term of 1 to 6 years
  • Firearm silencer – 1 to 6 years in prison for Class E felony
  • Metal knuckles or switchable knife – Class A misdemeanor carrying a punishment of up to one year imprisonment

Apart from these abovementioned, other categories include:

  • Any hoax device
  • A knife having blade that exceeds 4 inches or any equipment with no regular lawful purpose and a capacity to inflict serious bodily harm or death

Unlawful possession or carrying of a weapon

The unlawful possession of weapons is applied to carrying a knife with a blade over 4 inches, a firearm, as well as a club “with intent to go”.  The degrees of charges in this case vary in accordance with the gravity of the offense committed.

Possession of a Handgun While Under the Influence

A serious criminal offense, it carries a potential sentence of up to 11 months and 29 days in jail and a fine up to $2,500.

With proven track record of successful outcomes in even most complicated cases, Chase T. Smith, Attorney at Law, challenges the prosecutions in proving their case, files motions, as well as presents evidence in the court that can result in termination of the weapon charges filed against you.

- Sitemap - Privacy Policy - Google+

Use of this website and its contents does not generate an attorney/client relationship. Any email correspondence directly to Chase T. Smith, Attorney at Law, from this website is intended for general communication only and does not automatically create an attorney/client relationship.